Astronomy today

Your breaking news site on astronomy, astrobiology and space exploration, with articles and information on astronomy.



Astronomy Today is an astronomy news aggregator with news, articles and information from different sources on astronomy, astrobiology, space and planetary exploration with a huge archive of more than 15,000 news updated daily.

News

Space.com

On Sunday, March 19, NASA will broadcast the departure of SpaceX's latest Dragon cargo ship from the International Space Station. The live webcast will begin at 4:45 a.m. EDT (0845 GMT).

03/19/2017

Breaking Science News | Sci-News.com

This mosaic of Mimas, the smallest and innermost of Saturn’s main moons, was constructed from images taken by the narrow-angle camera onboard NASA’s Cassini orbiter on Jan. 30, 2017, during its final close approach to the icy moon. Mimas was discovered on Sept. 17, 1789 by the English astronomer William Herschel and named for one [...]

03/18/2017

Space.com

On Saturday (March 18), United Launch Alliance will live webcast the launch of a Delta IV rocket carrying a military communications satellite into orbit. The launch window opens at 8:18 p.m. ET (0018 GMT).

03/18/2017

Space.com

On March 18, 2017, the U.S. military communications satellite WGS-9 launched into orbit atop a United Launch Alliance Delta IV rocket. See photos from the rocket launch here.

03/18/2017

Space.com

A Delta IV rocket blasted off Saturday night (March 18) to deliver a $445 million U.S. military communications satellite into orbit, the ninth member of a planned network of 10 satellites.

03/18/2017

Space.com

Saturday (March 18), United Launch Alliance will live webcast the launch of a Delta IV rocket carrying a military communications satellite into orbit. The launch window opens at 7:44 p.m. EDT (2344 GMT).

03/18/2017

Space.com

On the chopping block are the Plankton, Aerosol, Cloud, ocean Ecosystem satellite; the Orbiting Carbon Observatory-3 experiment; the Climate Absolute Radiance and Refractivity Observatory Pathfinder mission; and the Deep Space Climate Observatory.

03/18/2017

Space.com

Catch a live broadcast of a United Launch Alliance (ULA) Delta IV rocket as it sends a military communications satellite into orbit tonight (March 18) at 7:44 p.m. EDT (2344 GMT).

03/18/2017

Space.com

OneWeb Satellites, the joint venture between rising satellite operator OneWeb and manufacturing giant Airbus, broke ground March 16 on a dedicated factory that will build thousands of OneWeb satellites instead of the hundreds originally envisioned.

03/18/2017

Space.com

Bright radiation emitted by neighboring galaxies likely fueled the rapid growth of supermassive black holes in the early universe, a new study shows.

03/18/2017